Insights into business, society, and life in general

The Fine Art of Listening

I came upon a valuable post today about listening. The author, Jim Morrison, makes the very valid point that listening is the Rodney Dangerfield of communication skills, and The Most Neglected Skill at Work. The irony of this is stunning when you consider that listening accounts for an estimated 44 — 46% of daily communication time. Compare this with writing: 8 to 10%, reading: 14 to 16%, and speaking: 29 to 31%.

I teach business communications courses at a local university, and I do include a unit on listening along with an assignment. But, after pondering Jim’s comments, I think I shall expand this unit in the future. I also plan to design and offer a course on listening for my Donovan-Wright Associates education offerings.

Thanks, Jim, for bringing to our attention a sadly undervalued skill.

 

Leave a Reply

